North Region


Date:  16th March 2018

Nomination Deadline: Closed

Venue:  Hilton Manchester Deansgate, 303 Deansgate, Manchester, M3 4LQ (New for 2017!)
Tel no: 0161 870 1600

Event Times:
Drinks Reception 11.45am
Award Ceremony & Lunch 12.30pm
Carriages 4.30pm

The awards are open to social housing providers, tenants and contractors to give recognition to their excellent work and vitally to share best practice amongst the sector. Three regional (Northern, Central and Southern) award ceremonies are held to determine the best in each area before the overall winners are unveiled at the national final. As ever, the judges will reward tenants who go the extra mile, innovative pioneering schemes and team efforts that make communities safer and more desirable places to live.

There is no cost to enter the awards and an organisation can enter multiple times in each category as long as the entry is not the same individual or project.

2018 Award Categories:

Excellence In Engagement in Supported Housing Award
Excellence In Tenant Engagement Award
Excellence In Community Action Award
Excellence In Annual Reports Award
Team of the Year Award
Excellence In Contractor Engagement Award
Young Tenant of the Year Award
Tenant of the Year Award

 New for 2018

Excellence In Employment, Skills & Training Award – Landlord
Excellence In Employment, Skills & Training Award – Contractor
Contractor Tenant Champion Award
Community Focused Service/Product of the Year Award

Here is the region breakdown for all North entries:
Covering Cheshire, Cumbria, Durham, East Riding of Yorkshire, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Merseyside, North Lincolnshire, North Yorkshire, Northumberland, South Yorkshire, Tyne and Wear and West Yorkshire.

Please see below for more Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Is there a charge to enter?

A. There is no cost to enter the Tpas Awards 2018. However, the awards ceremony itself is a ticketed event and there is a cost to attend it.

Q. Is there a limit to the number of entries I can submit?

A. No. We will accept more than one entry from the same organisation, including (where appropriate) multiple entries into the same category, but please ensure that your entries are substantially different.
If you have a project or initiative that you think could be applied to more than one category, please determine which category you feel is most appropriate for it. Please do not enter the same project into two different categories. For categories and the outline criteria please visit the Categories page which can be found here

Q. Can I enter by post?

A. We can only accept entries submitted online through one of our online entry forms, which can be found here

Q. Can I enter jointly with a partner organisation?

A. Yes. For the categories that recognise a particular project or initiative, we would welcome joint entries from organisations that have worked together.

Q. Can I resubmit a project that has been considered in previous years?

A. Projects that have already been considered by the judges in previous years should only be resubmitted if there has since been a significant change or advancement in the project.

Q. Can I provide further evidence, in addition to completing the entry form, to support my entry?

A. Yes you can submit up to 5 pictures and a video via email to

Q. What happens after I have submitted my entry?

A. On submitting your entry an automatic message will confirm receipt of your entry.

Q. When will I hear if my entry has been successful?

A. We will announce a shortlist of finalists for each of the categories and you will be notified in person if you have been successful. Experts at Tpas select the finalists. An independent panel made up of leading figures from throughout the housing sector then chooses the eventual winners. See the panel of judges here

Q. Will I get feedback on my entry?

A. Unfortunately, due to the high number of entries submitted each year, we are unable to provide feedback on individual entries.

Q. What makes a good entry?

A. Try to bear the following tips in mind when completing the online entry form:
• make sure that you have answered all the questions as fully as possible
• keep your entry concise and focused
• do not exceed the maximum word count
• the judges will be looking for tangible evidence to support your entry. Please supply performance data, costs, testimonials or user feedback where possible
• only submit supporting evidence if it helps to support your success.

Q. What happens if we win?

A. The awards are not just about rewarding excellence, they are also about showcasing successful or innovative ways of working and helping others to learn from and replicate your achievements. As such, Tpas will be looking to work with winning organisations to publicise the work that you do and to promote it as an example of good practice. For example, this may involve featuring your work in our good practice publications or inviting you to speak at our events. We will be flexible in our approach to this and will seek to agree a plan for us to promote your work with you if you are successful in winning an award.
You should also be aware that we might use information or images supplied as part of your entry for our publicity material. By entering the awards, you are agreeing to this.

Q. Who can I contact if I have any other questions or have difficulty completing the online entry form?

A. Please contact Penni Pennington Tel no. 0161 871 8522